German | English

Organisation and Financing

The Liechtenstein Institute is organised as a non-profit association in accordance with Liechtenstein's Personal and Company Law. The supreme administrative organ is the Institute's Board which is elected by the General Assembly and whose members work on a voluntary basis (President: Dr. Guido Meier). On the propos al of the Academic Council, the Board selects the Director, takes care of finances, determines the administrative management of the Institute together with the director, and, in consultation with the director, represents the Institute to the outside world. 

 

The Academic Council, which includes well-known professors from both Liechtenstein and abroad, ensures that the research is conducted to a high standard (Chairman: Dr. Mario Broggi). Its responsibilities include the selection of research projects and research staff.

 

The director is recruited from among the research team (Current Director: Dr. Wilfried Marxer). He is proposed by the Academic Council and approved by the Board. Election takes place every two years and re-election is possible. The Director is responsible for overseeing the research, for the preparation of annual and research programs, the organization of vocational training programs, personnel matters and other executive tasks. The administrative team is there to help him with all responsibilities.

 

The Liechtenstein Institute is financed mainly by public contributions from the state and the municipalities, by private donations and academic development funds, and, to a lesser extent, by the income from expert reports and commissioned studies.

Deutsch | Englisch

Organisation und Finanzierung

Das Liechtenstein-Institut ist als gemeinnütziger Verein gemäss liechtensteinischem Personen- und Gesellschaftsrecht organisiert. Oberstes administratives Organ ist der Institutsvorstand, der von der Mitgliederversammlung gewählt wird und ehrenamtlich arbeitet (Präsident: Dr. Guido Meier). Der Vorstand wählt auf Vorschlag des Wissenschaftlichen Rates den Direktor, sorgt für die finanziellen Mittel des Instituts, wählt gemeinsam mit dem Direktor das administrative Personal des Instituts und vertritt das Institut in Absprache mit dem Direktor nach aussen.

Der Wissenschaftliche Rat, dem namhafte Professoren aus dem In- und Ausland angehören, trägt Sorge dafür, dass Forschung auf hohem Niveau betrieben wird (Vorsitzender: Dr. Mario Broggi). Er wird insbesondere auch bei der Auswahl von neuen Forschungsprojekten und der Wahl des akademischen Personals einbezogen.

Der Direktor rekrutiert sich aus dem Kreis der Forschungsbeauftragten (Direktor: Dr. Wilfried Marxer). Er wird vom Wissenschaftlichen Rat vorgeschlagen und vom Vorstand bestätigt. Die Wahl erfolgt auf zwei Jahre, wobei Wiederwahl möglich ist. Der Direktor ist für die Begleitung der Forschungsarbeiten, die Erstellung von Jahres- und Forschungsprogrammen, die Organisation des Lehrbetriebes, Personalangelegenheiten und weitere Exekutivaufgaben zuständig. Ihm zur Seite steht die Administration.

 

Die Forschung erfolgt durch Forschungsbeauftragte, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitende, Doktoranden sowie freie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitende. Sie werden von der Administration sowie dem Bibliotheksdienst unterstützt. Das Liechtenstein-Institut bietet auch regelmässig Praktikumsplätze für Studierende an.

Das Liechtenstein-Institut finanziert sich durch öffentliche Beiträge von Staat und Gemeinden, durch private Geldspenden und Projektförderungen, Forschungsfonds, internationale Projekte, Auftragsstudien und Gutachten.