German | English

The Institute Building and its History

The "Kirchhügel" (Church Hill) of Bendern, where the Liechtenstein Institute is located, is a prominent landmark in the Low Country of Liechtenstein, with beautiful views of the Rhine valley in the direction of Switzerland and Austria. It was already inhabited in prehistoric times. In the sixth century a good-sized farm building stood here and a short time later the first house of worship was erected.

In 1194, Emperor Henry VI transferred the Church and the belongings of the almshouse to the Premonstratensian monastery of St. Luzi in Chur. In the 16th century the monks found refuge in Bendern, when the St. Luzi monastery was secularised during the Reformation. Many buildings were erected on the "Church Hill" before the Premonstratensians had their property in Chur restored around a hundred years later. The imposing governor’s office (around 1539), with its stepped gables, and the old rectory (1600), together with the church, form one of the most distinctive groups of buildings in the country.

Up to the beginning of the 19th century, the people (subjects of the reigning prince) used to gather in front of the governor's office for the so-called “Landammännerwahlen” (election by show of hands of the head of the local Council). When Prince Johann Adam of Liechtenstein purchased the Lordship of Schellenberg, the people came here to pay their respects to their new sovereign on 16 March 1699.

The village has a long history and is rich in symbolism. After the St. Luzi monastery moved its headquarters to Chur, only two monks remained in Bendern. The old rectory degenerated into a dilapidated "parish house".

From 1995 to 1997 the building was renovated. It is owned by the municipality of Gamprin-Bendern. Since 1997 the Liechtenstein Institute has been based there. The building has thus acquired a new purpose which is fully in harmony with its historical significance.

Deutsch | Englisch

Haus und Geschichte

Der Kirchhügel von Bendern ist ein exponierter Platz im Liechtensteiner Unterland mit schöner Aussicht auf das Rheintal Richtung Schweiz und Österreich. Er war bereits in prähistorischer Zeit besiedelt. Im 6. Jahrhundert stand hier ein grösseres Hofgebäude, kurze Zeit später wurde ein erstes Gotteshaus errichtet. Im Jahr 1194 übertrug Kaiser Heinrich VI. die Kirche und die Pfrundgüter dem Prämonstratenserstift St. Luzi in Chur. Die Mönche fanden hier im 16. Jahrhundert Schutz, als das Kloster in Chur während der Reformation säkularisiert wurde. Bis die Prämonstratenser ihren Besitz in Chur etwa hundert Jahre später wieder zurückerhielten, wurde in Bendern eifrig gebaut. 

 

Die imposante, mit Treppengiebel versehene Statthalterei (um 1539) und das alte Pfarrhaus (um 1600) bilden heute zusammen mit der Kirche eine der markantesten Gebäudegruppen des Landes.

Vor der Statthalterei versammelten sich die Untertanen bis zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhundert zu den Landammännerwahlen. Als Fürst Johann Adam von Liechtenstein die Herrschaft Schellenberg kaufte, huldigten die Untertanen hier am 16. März 1699 ihrem neuen Landesherrn. Der Ort hat eine lange Geschichte und eine reiche Symbolik. Nachdem das Kloster St. Luzi den Hauptsitz nach Chur verlegt hatte, blieben in Bendern nur noch zwei Mönche. Das alte Pfarrhaus verkam zu einem baufälligen "Pfarrstall".

1995 bis 1997 wurde der Bau renoviert. Eigentümerin ist die Gemeinde Gamprin-Bendern. Nach der Renovation verlegte das Liechtenstein-Institut seinen Sitz an diese neue Stätte. Das Gebäude hat damit eine seiner geschichtlichen Bedeutung entsprechende Neubestimmung erfahren.