German | English

Institute

The Liechtenstein Institute was founded in 1986 as a research institute to do scientific research in the fields of history, politics, law and economy relating to Liechtenstein. The institute is organised as a non-profit association and is state-subsidized.

The research is carried out in the form of long-running research projects, many smaller studies, in interdisciplinary projects and international cooperations. Besides the research priorities, which continue to be newly defined, numerous ongoing tasks are carried out, such as the online commentary on the Liechtenstein constitution, the digitalisation and continuous development of the historical encycolpedia or research on elections and referenda.

The knowledge gained from this research shall contribute to the better understanding of the Liechtenstein state, promote a liberal-minded and realistic self-image of Liechtenstein and facilitate an easier opinion and decision making.

Deutsch | Englisch

Institut

Das Liechtenstein-Institut wurde 1986 als Forschungsinstitut gegründet, um in den Fachbereichen Geschichte, Politik, Recht und Wirtschaft liechtensteinrelevante Forschungsthemen und Forschungsfelder wissenschaftlich zu bearbeiten. Das Institut wird von einem Verein getragen und öffentlich subventioniert.

Die Forschung erfolgt in Form von mehrjährigen Forschungsprojekten, vielen kleineren Studien, in interdisziplinären Projekten und internationalen Kooperationen. Neben den stets neu zu definierenden Prioritäten der Forschung werden auch zahlreiche Daueraufgaben wahrgenommen, wie etwa der Online-Verfassungskommentar, die Digitalisierung und Weiterentwicklung des Historischen Lexikons oder die Wahl- und Abstimmungsforschung. 

Die aus der Forschungsarbeit gewonnenen Erkenntnisse sollen in der in- und ausländischen Öffentlichkeit zum besseren Verständnis des liechtensteinischen Staates beitragen, ein weltoffenes und realistisches liechtensteinisches Selbstverständnis fördern sowie in wichtigen Fragen die Meinungsbildung und Entscheidungsfindung erleichtern.